Silverton Misfortunes

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:45
ThreadID: 89243 Views:3083 Replies:5 FollowUps:20
A few members had the misfortune of mechanical problems while at the gathering. Little Wes's Rocky had elec problems while on Bonz's 4wd tour and had to be towed out 60 km back to Daves place where some bush mechanics got him going again. Another well known member had more serious problems and the good hearted members had to provide a guard of honour for the deceased. Hope the deceased is resurrected and better than before.Image Could Not Be Found

Both members were very calm about their situation and proudly took all flack on the chin
Another Mexican

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:49

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:49
Murray

even though Muzbry and i were the last Nissan's standing the Yota's still had trouble keeping up ;-)
AnswerID: 466045

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:55

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:55
Gday Mark
Murray R spent the night up near Horsham last night and it was -3c . Keep those little fellas warm..Pictures sent a short while ago.

FollowupID: 740104

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:57

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:57

set up camp last night at Wentworth and it was 3 deg........and the wind blowing off the river!!!

spent the day discovering Mildura today,will set our sights on Parkes tomorrow.

cheers for the pics :-)
FollowupID: 740105

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:15

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:15
got pictures thanks

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 740109

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 16:53

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 16:53
Yotas spent their time waiting for you to exit a said creek crossing, that took a certain Missan Pathfinder several attempts to get out of, where as all others just drove out of it ;)
As for Hairs making it hard for you ................ well you needed an excuse LOL

Murray,
Twas a pleasure to drive you back over to Little Wes and the Rocky :)
I hope he likes his now 200m long winch extentsion strap ;)

FollowupID: 740253

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:51

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:51
Good evening
I noted that a brand new tow truck was sent to do the deed . Hats on hearts , Nothing more appropriate than the best for I Bonz .

AnswerID: 466046

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:08

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:08
I had a look at the sad looking Nissan a while ago and I am not sure if it is shedding a tear or two or just dripping oil.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 740108

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:10

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:10
Nice Pic, Now we need to get the one for Wez from JeffO

AnswerID: 466049

Follow Up By: Member - Blaze - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:50

Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 22:50
Oh No Bonz, The Grenade didn't have the pin fall out did it?? Now i know why you liked taking Al's Yota up to the Challenge :-)
FollowupID: 740113

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 16:21

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 16:21
That picture could only be enhanced by the addition of the the mournful call of "The Last Post" as sh'es winched onto the flatbed.

Bad luck Bonz. May as well do the timing belt pully, clutch plate and intercooler while your in there! Let the spending begin!!

FollowupID: 740151

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 18:00

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 18:00
You mean the 'yota the wheel fell off?? hmmm well I wil stick with the Nissan!

Mick I have an exedy clutch in there as well as a cross country intercooler with fan assist. Might investigate the timing stuff

FollowupID: 740165

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 19:50

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 19:50
I feel your pain having rebuilt Goldie after the melt down in early 09. While it was added expense it was well worth taking care of the little bits and pieces while everything was out.

Will you go the later model 3 litre or are you considering alternatives? I did see a few supercharged 6 litre V8's at the 4x4 show.

Despite the 3L engine issues, they are a great vehicle for comfort and off road ability. The young colt who bought mine did very well for himself I reckon.

FollowupID: 740178

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 20:04

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 20:04
Bonz
Maybe Muzbry will sell you his 3 lt as I know it is just run in. Hope it gets home safe and on the road soon.

Mick
we couldn't find a bugle
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 740183

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 22:19

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 22:19
Yep Mick lateer model 3l engine, hopefully after theyve ironed out all the issues, might look at the EGR valve thingy and ditch the chip.

FollowupID: 740192

Follow Up By: Member - Blaze - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 02:33

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 02:33
Lets just hope the Fordsan is the same price to repair as loosing a wheel mate. And you should know, I'm certainly not talking up the Yota brand LOLOL
FollowupID: 740198

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 02:04

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 02:04
Murray

I have been soooooooooo! hanging out for this to be posted, not that I am into 'trucks' exploding or such like.

If it has to happen then it's far better that it be a 'missin nissan' than God's gift to 4WDing - yep! Oh What a Feeling - Toyota.

Thank you very much for this as I had to tow that blue puss-bucket out of the Pyrenees a couple of years ago and didn't have a camera with me. (LOL).

Have spoken to the BONZ and he assures me that it will be renamed the Phoenix when it 'rises again' in a few weeks time.

He reckons he is going to put some Nissan LS 3 motor in it, whatever that is.

DD

PS

See you at the Pyrenees Bonz

AnswerID: 466054

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:37

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 08:37
Could be an LS3 chev corvette motor.

FollowupID: 740129

Follow Up By: Member - Blaze - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 17:54

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 17:54
Maybe a Mitsi transplant Mr Devil,

Now mine is running nice and cool with the Visc fan back in place, think it would push that fordsan along quite nicely..
FollowupID: 740164

Follow Up By: Ifeellikeanewscreenname (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 21:50

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 21:50
Hey bonz,
I know where i can lay my hands on a John Deere engine, 6 litre straight six with turbo, only done 7700 hours, dyno said it was 128hp at the pto. block has a slight twist......

Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 740188

Follow Up By: Ifeellikeanewscreenname (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 21:53

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 21:53
I know a bloke who has a 471 detroit motor he might sell too, ya know, the 2 stroke diesel one, they are a touch thirsty but up around the 170hp mark depending on injectors and tuning.

you know me, I'm trying to be helpful
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 740189

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 12:42

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 12:42
Bonz - how many times have I suggested a 4800 Patrol.

AnswerID: 466066

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 18:03

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 18:03
Not enough Robin, not enough

FollowupID: 740166

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 18:32

Monday, Sep 26, 2011 at 18:32
I'm a 4.8 ltr petrol Convert, no more embarrassing moments lol.
FollowupID: 740168

Follow Up By: Member - Blaze - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 02:41

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 02:41
Like ure thoughts Robin and Daza,

Ahhhhh 4.8ltrs of Nissan power, even I would think about driving one of them...
Don't hear of many having issues and they have all the Nissan strong stuff like Diffs and gearbox etc bolted to them. I often wonder how much money some of the 3ltr Diesel owners think they have saved on fuel compared to the petrol after either a fuel pump, or engine rebuild. Mate over here has spent close to 20K keeping his 2005 3ltr going, thats lots of go juice in anyones language :-)

FollowupID: 740199

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 16:17

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 16:17
OOpsy Bonz, lucky i wasn't there, with my old girl, looking rough as guts.... oh mechanically sound.... Did i hear you say a project TONI happening........

would be nice all that extra power. lol

Hope things go well for you,

Good luck,

chris
FollowupID: 740250